#NaPoWriMo day 12

Today was a day of good news. I just want to say I am so proud, honoured, and excited to be a part of Spit The Atom. Also big shout out to Apples and Snakes for the Writing Room, and Innua Ellam’s workshop was insightful, brilliant in a subtle way. Today’s piece is not from that workshop because that piece needs a lot more time, and might just be one for me. Instead I’ve written one just for you, you loyal reader you. Enjoy…

Meeting You: NXG to PUR

You have a slightly off kilter beauty.
You smile with the warmth of a cat
snuggled at ones ankles.
You smile with the teeth of a cat,
prominent canines
perfectly placed. It’s disarming.

You are so many places at once.
Your eyes glisten with the water
of all your crossed oceans.
I see you tread waves away from me
in conversation lulls.

I wonder where you go.
I feel bad calling you back.
I only wish I could go too.

Leave a Reply

