#NaPoWriMo day 14

Was a real pleasure to perform at the StreetGames awards dinner yesterday. I was more nervous than I’ve been in a long while but I had a thoroughly good time up there in Coventry.

I have been writing a poem a day for 2 weeks now and I’m already learning a lot about myself as a writer. It seems that I always have a poem in me, but giving yourself space to excavate that poem is usually the hardest part. I’ve found myself having busy days, coming home and forcing myself to write. It’s by force because I wouldn’t if it wasn’t for the #NaPoWriMo challenge, but it isn’t by force because I WANT to write but usually I’ll tell myself I’m not in the right space. I guess what I am saying is that I’ve learned that I’m never to far away from being in the right space to write a little something. Anyway, enough poet ramblings, enjoy…

Opaque Layer

It’s hard to see at night
sight refuses to travel through black.

I wonder about Meisner.
Question if black is melanin.
Hope that if it is,
your sight refuses to travel through.

I picture your eyes.
I am scared to look into them.

All my emotions are cascading lights
behind this shallow layer.

I doubt it is thick enough.
I am scared it is transparent.
I fear you will see my light show.

I am confident you will not like it.
I do not think your love travels through black.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

