AND WE BACK! #NaPoWriMo (day 1)

And we back, and we back, na na naaaaaa, this ain’t no intro, this the entrées, let me stop now. I hope you read that first line in your Chance voice. Anyways, I am here again for NaPoWriMo, a poem a day for the entire month of April. I have dusted off my neglected blog, and will posteth a poem here everyday for this sacred poetry month. You will also get a delightful paragraph from me also, much like this one, everyday too. I will do and say strange things in this paragraph sometimes. Today is not one of those days. I firstly want to big up all the poets endeavoring to set out on this journey, there will be ups and downs, but you will endure! I know not everyone does the whole blog thing so I’ll link you up with other poets blogs as I find out the other awesome poets who are choosing to do this publicly. I know @GabrielAkamo is, so go follow him for links to his blog and check in with him daily also for poetic goodness.

Fire poet alert: Kareem Brown (@KareemPB_) https://youtu.be/lXtnpApLzYI

Now for the poem…

Granules of Sugar in a Chocolate Day

I travelled side to side in a train moving forwards,
grew my elbows into roots on the armrests,
braced myself for the oncoming podge.

The cleaner at my station approached me this morning.
He told me he had seen me on sky sports, on tv.
I have only ever nodded in black at this man,
but his words made my morning mean something.

Green is my favourite colour,
I suppose it will look like red in rose tinted glasses.

Today I took a late turn, looked at my maps, then righted my journey.
I do not think much of it.
Later, I dwell on the moment, try to make it a metaphor for my life.
I will give up, knowing how lost I currently am,
how stubbornly I keep guidance from my eyes.

I did not anticipate your presence.
I did not realise I missed you.
Is it the body, the mind, or the spirit,
that resurrects the waters of an empty dam?
Does it matter, when you know time will drain it again?

Apparently, you do not light a lamp and put it under a bowl.
Yet extraordinary souls are cased in bone, and flesh, and skin, and hair.
I do not know if bodies are bowls, or part of the light too.
They clap.

My mind is betrothed to music,
what is promised, is not always pleasant, and sometimes we don’t speak.
Today I was reminded of how special our love is. How beautiful it has been,
and how beautiful our day will be.

Leave a Reply

